South Australia

Promoting the rights of people with disability, who require a companion, to fair ticketing at events and venues

Search Suburb or Postcode

Service type (eg. theatre)

Wednesday, 08 November 2017 23:58

The Sheeps Back Museum

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Three-storied flour mill 1866 built by Smith and Agar for David Simpson.

The Sheep’s Back Museum an 1870s flour mill houses has been the Headquarters of the Naracoorte Branch of the National Trust SA since it moved from its earlier site in 1984. It is also where you find a quality Craft Shop and the Visitor Information Centre, staffed by Council staff assisted by volunteers.

The old stone building houses galleries telling the story of the Australian wool industry in the ‘inside country’. The focus is on the woolshed and the skills and trades of the workers in the industry, moving to the lifestyle of the woolgrowers over time, and  on the impact the industry has had on the environment. The wool industry focus continues into the Big Shed, where the unique ‘Robotic Shearer’, is housed. This piece of quite unique technology, developed in South Australia, is displayed as the climax of the slowly evolving technology of hand pieces, presses and so on that have served the industry for 200 years. A quaint old slab construction woolshed that began life as a settler’s home is a museum piece in its own right.

Additional Information

  • Type/Category: Museum
  • Street Address: 36 MacDonnell Street
  • Suburb: Naracoorte
  • State: South Australia
  • Postcode: 5271
  • Phone Number: (08) 8762 1399

LOT 2 West Esplanade
Port Jackson, New South Wales.
Australia ,2095
02 8251 7877